Salvage

G

Over the years I have had to receive assistance from two other craft, one of which was a tow into port. Are there any risks asociated with salvage rights? If so, how can I safeguard myself?

G

I understand that using your own line as a towing hawser defeats salvage claims. Perhaps some "sea lawyer" or legal eagle could enlarge on this.

If it is a fishing vessel, try to agree a fee in advance or if the RNLI make a good donation to their funds.

I don't know if your Insurance Company would pay up in the latter situation but they may be willing if it otherwise would have caused a large or total loss claim)

G

Re: Salvage - my recollection ...

I'm no expert but I recall an article over the past six months (I think by James Jermain in Yachting Monthly) in which it was explained that salvage rights are calculated on the basis on the amount of danger from which the vessel was made safe.

So, if your engine just blew up while waiting at slack tide for lock gates to open to Cardiff Bay, there is no danger and requesting a tow would not likely incur salvage rights.

If the situation was in a dire sea state and the rescuing vessel (assume that is what it has become) has made risk in effecting the salvage, and to have not done so would have resulted in a reasonable loss, then salvage rights become an issue.

I believe (but may be wrong) that the concept of using your own line has been reasoned by maritime lawyers to indicate that you are still in some semblance of control, so diminshing the "degree" of the rescue.

A simple written document exchanged between skippers MIGHT have the same effect.

Of course, I'm not a lawyer and this could be unreliable advice etc.

G

Re: Salvage - my recollection ...

You are just about spot on. I would add that I understand there is a precedence that a yacht in trouble a harbour would not result in salvage - say an angine failure in the ebb and too much tide to sail against.