sail number

Birdseye

Visit site
new boat doesnt have one and a quick look at the RYA site suggests that you have to be an RYA member for them to kidly sell you one! Not surprising - as a retired instructor I know how money grubbing the RYA are.

Is there am alternative route?

For that matter, what is to stop me from just making one up and putting it on the sails? It will only be used for recognition in our local club races anyway.

Motor_Sailor

Visit site
You can put whatever number you like on your sail. But I don't think you can put GBR as it might then match an officially issued one and cause confusion.

There are other bodies that issue official numbers including the RORC and Clyde Combined Clubs, etc.

Daydream believer

Visit site
Not surprising - as a retired instructor I know how money grubbing the RYA are.
Gold members can apply for number free of charge. How does your assertion-" money grubbing the RYA are" apply to that?
Then perhaps you might explain why they should NOT charge non members.
But as explained in #2 you have other choices & you need not support an organisation that supports the wider aspects of your sport, if you prefer not to do so

Ingwe

Visit site
Just checked the RYA website and it's £30 for them to issue a sail number to a non member, £15 for normal members or free if your an rya gold member.

The Q

Visit site
Does your New boat have a hull Number? Is it one of a class? If it has a hull number (manufacturers) then you have a sail number, if it's one of a class then There is probably already a class symbol to add to that.

For my own build boat, I've chosen a Rough Collie Head in Silhouette (in Blue) as the Symbol and as she's the one and only, her number will be 1.
The Boats Name? Blue Moon.
After a Blue Merle Rough Collie we had. "Baron Blue Moon" was his Formal name.

Last edited:

Tranona

Visit site