Safe Oil lamps

alec

Visit site
I like the idea of oil lamps – the light, the ambience and particularly the heat in a small boat.

But are they safe ? If it fell down what would happen ?

Are there failsafe ones or ones with safety features ?

Any thoughts, experiences or ideas would be welcome.

Regards

Searush

back2bikes.org.uk
I have a small gimballed oil lamp (similar to the Nauticalia ones) wall mounted with a heat sheild above the chimney. Had it for years and it's never fallen off, lit or unlit, despite some very short steep seas in the shallows of the Irish Sea/ Liverpool Bay area.

It provides a low level of light and can get a little "Fumey" smelling if used on long evenings with the hatches battened down. I tend to only use it on moorings or at anchor because I have an amber map light for overnight passage making which is even better at retaining night vision and provides the extra light over the chart table where it is needed.

Parafin, or scented lamp oil - if you feel posey, is easy to get & safely stored in a plastic bottle in a secure locker. Go for it, save your batteries & feel the ambience improve!

I suspectt that, if it fell it would go out & hardly leak at all. Don't believe that Hollywood cr*p of the log cabin becoming an inferno & everybody dying in 30 seconds when the lamp is dropped. If you want a test get one of the cheapo "chrome" looking ones from Hong Kong, fill it, light it & throw it on a small pile of straw (a la movies) I suspect the glass won't even break and if it does, the flame will go out!

If you do try it please report back /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

Captain_Chaos

Visit site
I have three oil hurricane lamps on board and as well as providing light, they take the chill off the air which, if you dont have a heater, makes the cabin more comfortable at this time of year.