RYA theory

finestgreen

Visit site
Hi; hope this is an appropriate forum for this question - I'm new to sailing and looking to progress up to completing the Coastal Skipper course reasonably quickly, and I have some questions specifically about RYA theory training.

I'm pretty confident about studying theory from books in general, would prefer to spend money on getting out on the water than sitting in the classroom, but on the other hand I can see the benefits of getting the validation of classroom training to avoid potentially falling short when committed to practical training.

So, I'm thinking of following this sequence (with some experience building interspersed as necessary)
1. Competent Crew
2. Independent self study Day Skipper theory material from books
3. Classroom course Coastal Skipper / Yachtmaster Coastal theory
4. Day Skipper Practical
5. Coastal Skipper Practical

Assuming I'd sufficiently grasped the Day Skipper theory, would it be difficult to do the Coastal Skipper classroom course with only Competent Crew level practical experience?

I'm aware there (probably!) isn't going to be a definitive answer here, just interested in your opinions and experiences. Thanks,

capnsensible

www.herculessailing.com
Hiya. Mebbe you could consider swapping around your day skipper practical and doing that before coastal theory? You would probably get to grips with that course much better with a bit more background. It's quite a jump in knowledge ......in my opinion!

finestgreen

Visit site
Thanks - my worry is getting to the Day Skipper Practical and finding that my assumptions about how well I've learnt from the books turns out to be pure hubris :) Does that make sense? All else being equal I'd rather flub a classroom course than a week of sailing!

mbroom

Visit site
If you are at the level of Competent Crew, then do it and reconsider. Much better to get some experience, then look at DS