Riveting a cleat onto mast

LouisBrowne

Visit site
I want to rivet two horn cleats to the mast of my boat for securing the falls of the stack-pack lazy jacks.
I have never tried riveting before and I'd be grateful for advice on the following questions:
1. How do I decide the length of the rivet?
2. What type of rivet should I use (stainless, monel, aluminium?)?
3. I have a lazy tongs riveter: is this the right gadget?
4. If the best advice is to use monel or stainless steel how do I prevent corrosion of the mast (aluminium)?
Any other advice?
In case it's relevant, the boat is an MG335, mainsail area 30 sq.m. ; the weight on the lazy jacks is quite substantial.
Many thanks

ctva

Visit site
On our Jeanneau 342, we have a simple plastic 4" cleat with 5mm cord for the lazy jack. Not a lot of force on them. If you are using the Barton system, it is massively oversized with 10mm (I think) rope. Keep it small and simple with plastic cleat and monel rivets.

SailingDog

Visit site
A number of manufacturers rivet fittings to mast, a straight forward approach would be Monel rivets and some Harken Tef gel to ward off any corrosion. As for size it needs to fit the cleat, small enough to go through the hole with a big enough head to hang on, it doesn't need to be massively long.

thinwater

sail-delmarva.blogspot.com
a. Make sure nothing else can snag on the horns.
b. Rivnuts are not flush (about 0.065 above for 1/4-inch). The cleat may wobble. You will need a gasket/shim to make up the thickness.
c. Rivnuts leave a bigger hole and are hard to remove.

I would only use a Rivnut if I thought it highly likely that I would remove the hardware and then reinstall it, like a wind instrument or something that might need removed for maintanance. That is what they are for.

Nearly all manufacturers use 3/16" SS or monel rivets. A little Tefgel an get on with life. The corrosion will take 20 years to matter. If you want to remove it, they are easy to drill out.