Required: Experienced sailor in the Algarve to train a new sailor and undertake some extended voyages..

JamesWilcox

Visit site
Dear Friends,

I am relatively new to sailing and in the middle of doing the relevant RYA exams etc. I have a nice boat (Oceanus 55, like new with 3 double cabins etc. etc.) in the Algarve that needs to be used and enjoyed more than it is. I lack experience and crew and perhaps you lack a boat...Key to this will be if we get on with one another. I am happy to sail with either singles, friends, or couples. The initial idea would be some day sailing around the Algarve to see if we get on, then I think an extended cruise of a couple of weeks in May/June . Lots of other opportunities to sail after this. This could be to the Med or even the Canary Islands. You could be any age, but most importantly must be experienced, i.e. Yacht Master qualified. Drop me a message if you think this might be you and fun to do.

Very best,

James

Stingo

Visit site
Welcome to the forums, James.
The Algarve is a fairly large area. Which port or marina is the boat berthed in at the moment. I ask this because, as an example, from where I live, a train takes just over two hours each way, so a day trip is not worth the effort.
Being a Yachtmaster is over rated. I say this, despite having a Yachtmaster Offshore qualification myself. Miles under the keel is far more important.

JamesWilcox

Visit site
Hi Stingo,

She is berthed in Portimao. I agree that nothing beats miles, but I do need some way of working out who is an accomplished sailor and who is, well, not. Best, James

Close hauled

Visit site