I want to sail the world - where do I start?

FlyingGoose

Visit site
Just to clarify my position on buying a larger yacht and set out around Scotland,
I was a dinghy instructor in my early 20.s and born into the sea and been on boats most of my memories , so when I got my forever ocean boat, I put a plan of 5 years to get to know her inside out and learn to sail her. Before we go to the big blue
This was our first large boat , but the principles of safety , sailing and understanding wind, weather , sea are there.
So I praise you for your dream and go for it , but gain experience in what ever form you choose .
If it was me starting out now I would skip the dinghies and go through the RYA courses starting with competent crew and working upwards, and getting as much experience as you can get,
This does not have to be done over years , we all learn tasks differently and you can be off sooner than you think but with the knowledge which makes it a better experience

Bajansailor

Visit site
If it was me starting out now I would skip the dinghies and go through the RYA courses starting with competent crew and working upwards

I would slightly disagree - if you start off by learning to sail in a dinghy then everything is decided by you - ie you do not have instruments like depth sounders or wind speed / direction meters to help to guide you.
And I think it is very useful to be able to gauge where the wind is coming from, and how strong it is - dinghy sailors learn to do this by feel, but so many cruising sailors do seem to rely implicitly on their instruments.