I need an old fashion electronic/radio technician

tillergirl

Visit site
One component on this PCB is defective. I have the wiring diagrams, I have the notes, I have the decoder waveforms: I have no knowledge on how to use all that. The closest expert I have found so far is in Italy. Anyone know how to make sense of this sort of thing or knows someone who might know please?

P1050097 by Roger Gaspar, on Flickr

Tradewinds

Visit site
OK. That will be Daniele Fua in Italy. Great bloke.

Looking at my circuit diagrams it's the Control Unit PCB assembly.

I converted my Neco 692 to a Simrad Nac3 control unit (just kept the motor part). I have a control unit in my shed somewhere. Is this of any use to you? Maybe swop the board out (or even the whole unit). The whole shebang was serviced by Derek Coventry back in 2010.

If you want it you can have it.

Cheers
Nigel

tillergirl

Visit site
Yes, yes, yes!

Yes Daniele has been giving me guidance. Originally when I bought Sea Dog, the three components were imcompletely connected (for those who don't know the Neco but are interested - the Neco is a 1970-1980s automatic pilot that comprises a Compass, Drive Unit and Control Unit). Following Daniele's guidance I tracked down a fault on one of the Relays in the Drive Unit and he gave a me link to track down a new relay - there were 22 in stock in Texas; I ordered a pair on the Wednesday and on the Friday morning they arrived! The Drive Unit is therefore correctly performing. I then tracked down some dodgy wiring by the previous owner and resolved that. The next stage is to set up the 'Lining-up' process and that is where I have the problem.