Doing a crossing in a 'smaller boat'....thoughts?

cliverobertson

Visit site
Doing a crossing in a \'smaller boat\'....thoughts?

Hi, I'm new to this website and the forum game. Seems pretty usefull though so far.

I've got a rather 'compact' 22ft fin keel sailer, which I've been sailing for a couple of years now and I've logged a few miles all over the East Coast. I've been sailing all my life, but I'm only 23...so thats not all that long really I spose.

Anyways - The next biggy for me is doing a crossing...

A few of my mates have done it on bigger boats, and I'm pretty clued up on navigation etc...
It seems to all shape up fairly straightforward, and I'm sure 'Spindrift' can handle it...but still seems rather a daunting mission to me.

Has anyone done a crossing in a similar size boat?

Does anyone think I'm stupid for considering this?

Or am I even being a woose for asking the question?

I'm after any advice at all really - Massively willing to learn.

I can't learn enough.....

Cheers all

Spars

Visit site
Re: Doing a crossing in a \'smaller boat\'....thoughts?

I've done it smaller,(18ft) and I take it you'll run down to the Ramsgate area and across there, your biggest problem will probably be the Thames Estuary and the Sands and when you get there you'll wonder what the fuss was about.
Good luck to you, have a go and enjoy it!
/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

andlauer

Visit site

Bonjour
It's not a question of size but a question of payload.
You must travel with the crew, food, water, spares, safety devices.
Your boat was designed and built for a given payload that you should not exceed (many do!!!).
Once the payload is established the shipping list should be scratched (australian edition) until the payload is reached !
Mini's level of equipment are good examples.
Eric /forums/images/graemlins/ooo.gif

cliverobertson

Visit site

QUOTE:(....What are you wanting to cross ??? The river ? the Channel or the Atlantic ?.....)