Deck Officer Cadet Course - Can anyone help please?

at3283

Visit site
Hi all. I'm new here. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

I was wondering if anyone is on (or has been on) a Deck Officer Cadet course? I'm thinking of applying, but have a few questions.

*Is there a maximum age? (I'm nearly 21)
*What is it like to live on board the ship (is it fun, hard, do you share a cabin etc)?
*Do you get a wage whilst on the course?
*During the 6 months sea-based training, do you get any 'holiday leave' (to go home etc)?
*I'm not very good at maths (however, I did get good GCSEs in other subjects, and I've been to college) - will this go against me?
*I'm female - are there many female cadet officers?

I'd be really grateful for any help anyone could give me. Even if you could direct me to the right place to ask these questions, would be a great help! /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Jack100

Visit site
Hi,

I am currently training to be a Deck Officer with P&O Nedlloyd, whilst studying for a BSc Degree at University of Plymouth. I get paid an allowance whilst at Uni - per term, and whilst at Sea. You need a minimum 12 months seatime before you can take the Officer of Watch (OOW) certificate, so my summer holidays are spent gaining the required seatime (plus a placement year between years 2-3 at uni) and Easter and Christmas holidays spent doing STCW courses such as fire fighting etc.

There are 2 routes - HND route and Degree route

Max age: Not sure, but 21 would seem fine to me

Whats it like on board: I work on Container ships, so I can only speak for myself - there isn't much to do but the cabins are very nice - get your own cabin and it is en suite. Of course all food is provided. Work is 7 days a week and can be very tiring.

You do get leave, calculated at one week per month whilst Cadet. Not sure what you mean by 6month Sea period?