Contessa 32 purchase advice. Newbie here. Yatch world purchase

steveeasy

Visit site
Thought id compare the sail area and weight compared to my Twister. Very similar weight of 9,500 lbs. The rig is the same size, with a similar sail area. Not sure what ive gained from this other than the 32 Has a much lower displacement/length ratio making the Twister ultra heavy.
So the contessa 32 would be great to sail anywhere but my Twister might be better in a real blow. I really like both, and both are really good value for money. whats not to like.

Steveeasy

oldgit

Visit site
.....have not read entire thread but suspect prospective MoBo owners are not much different to yachties.
Want you want/what you think you want and what you actually need from a boat , tend to be two very different beasts.

Same applies to what needs replacing/ mending or chucking away on purchase of the boat.
Chum of mine recently bought a rather nice modern first boat, asked me to go aboard and give his boat a quick once over.
Was presented with list a of what he intended to do to get the boat up to scratch and as he wanted it.
First on his list to be dumped was £1500 quids worth of liferaft ! It was a bit scruffy and in the way.
Suggested he might really like to start with some fenders and maybe some wet weather gear and if their was any money left :eek: some bloody lifejackets and a decent radio :(
We are still talking by the way.

V1701

Visit site
.....have not read entire thread but suspect prospective MoBo owners are not much different to yachties.
Want you want/what you think you want and what you actually need from a boat , tend to be two very different beasts.

Same applies to what needs replacing/ mending or chucking away on purchase of the boat.
Chum of mine recently bought a rather nice modern first boat, asked me to go aboard and give his boat a quick once over.
Was presented with list a of what he intended to do to get the boat up to scratch and as he wanted it.