Contessa 32 purchase advice. Newbie here. Yatch world purchase

flinny

Visit site
Hey All

I'm new to the forum and new to sailing.
spent about three month researching sail boats before i decided to put an offer in on a Contessa 32 (it's a little earlier than i planned as wanted some sailing classes first but covid is driving me mad so i thought let's just do this)

also a lurker here, and didn't want to post until i decided to take a plunge to avoid ending up in the broken dreams, didn't happen thread.

1973 Contessa 32 Sail New and Used Boats for Sale - www.yachtworld.co.uk

I've got a viewing on Saturday, 30th and it looks like my offer may be accepted.

This boat was recently refitted by a boat yard in wales, prior to the current owner purchasing it in 2017 and getting it delivered:

Tigo II Delivery

It has new standing rigging (2016)
New running rigging (2016)
Mast replaced in (2006)
full interior rebursh in 2016
basic electronics pack 2016

the engine is original
as are the water and fuel tanks i believe but that these are yet to be confirmed.

obviously the purchase is subject to survey, haulout and sea trail.
i just wondered what you guys think at 25k

and anything i should be looking out for, any advice would be great. whether you think it priced fairly etc

cheers

earlybird

Visit site
Contessa 32s always seem to be overpriced so I won't really comment. However, with a 48 year old engine, I think you should budget a few £k for major overhaul or ~£8-9K, say, for a replacement in the fairly near future.

flinny

Visit site
Welcome to the forums!

Looks pretty, but it's quite optimistically priced, especially as it has almost a 50 year old engine. There's a tidy-looking 1977 boat with a 2007 Beta engine on the market, offers on £18.5K.

Contessa 32 Used Boat for Sale 1977 | TheYachtMarket

it needs a new mast, and standing rigging, so probably a new main sail as well, at the point id be at 10-15k and thinking about the running rigging while there.

flinny