Contessa 26

CateH

Visit site
Hi I'm Cathy, I'm a newbie here .

Although this is my first post I hope someone kind can help me with my dilemma.

My dear Mother who is 86 and now sadly dieing of cancer. She was a very keen sailor in her day but the time has come to move on her much loved boat.

The boats name is Dolly Bird (formerly Bird of Freedom) she was built by Jack Barnes in Newport Isle of Wight, who worked for many years with Jeremy Rodgers in Lymington. She is one of only two and is constructed of Mahogany on Oak. She has not been sailed much in the last nine years but has been maintained by kind members of the sailing club. The engine was renewed about 10 years ago and has been run regularly. Her sails were renewed in 2013 and have not been used.
She is currently moored at Eling near Totton, Southampton and we have an advert on the Jeremy Rodgers brokerage web site giving all her stats.

I am not a sailor myself and am at a bit of a loss as to how to move her on, we are open to offers, maybe someone could point me in the right direction.

DownWest

Visit site
Sorry to hear about your mother, but it sounds like she much enjoyed the boat.
You might try the Wooden Ship brokerage. Then there is always Boats and Outboards.
Lots of good photos and an honest description of her will help. Classic wooden boats of that size have a fairly small market, but there are keen people if you reach them.
You might try the Wooden Boat magazine in the US, It has plenty of readers on this side of the ditch.

Last edited:

Gary Fox

N/A
Visit site
Sorry to hear about your mum, I would second the suggestion of the Wooden Ships brokerage website, and I believe they will photograph the boat and advise on the ad wording. She is certainly a very rare and beautiful yacht!

Last edited:

Tranona

Visit site