COLVIC SAILOR 29 FIN KEEL QUESTION

CRASHED AGAIN

Visit site
Hi All,
Would anyone know what metal was used in the Fin Keel of a 1980s Colvic Sailor 29, cast iron or lead? And how were they formed, poured molten into the GRP moulded keel or free cast and just bolted on to the hull? Fin Keel, not Bilge Keels.

LittleSister

Me Norfolk/Suffolk border - Boat Deben & Southwold
Visit site
I have no specific knowledge of the Colvic 29, but I presume from the wording of your question they have an encapsulated keel. As Colvic were a relatively budget brand, I would be very surprised if the ballast were lead, rather than steel.

Typical encapsulated keel construction was very small pieces of steel (punchings) mixed with resin and placed inside the keel moulding before settings to form a solid lump. IIRC Colvics were commonly sold for home completion, with the workmanship and materials of the home completed parts, which would typically include the ballast, being very varied - with some very poor, a lot middling, and a few better than yard completed boats.

With that (very common) form of construction it is essential to both build it and maintain it to prevent water ingress into the steel ballast, either though un-repaired damage to the external GRP of the keel, or inadequate original sealing of the top of the ballast in the bilges. It is rarely a problem, but if water does get into the ballast, the steel rusts and expands, and can 'blow' outward the GRP keel, ultimately threatening its integrity. Can usually be relatively easily solved if you catch it early enough, but prevention far better.

Last edited:

Praxinoscope

Visit site
A friend had a Seawych, with an encapsulated keel, which had water ingress, foolishly he ignored the problem and the whole keel eventually cracked open and split the hull at the same time,

LittleSister

Me Norfolk/Suffolk border - Boat Deben & Southwold
Visit site