CATAMARANS for long term liveaboard and WORLD CRUISING

Scotty_Tradewind

Me: South Oxfordshire. Boat, Galicia NW Spain
Visit site
I've just posted similar on CA website 'Conversations' forum.

Any help really appreciated.
thanks, S.

In my local offshore club 'Reading Offshore', I have met newbies to sailing who are investigating the idea of purchchasing a large catamaran for liveaboard and World cruising.

They are soon to do their Day Skipper Practical in the Solent on board a cat' and wish to get more information to add to this experience.

I believe their thoughts are that a cat' will give better creature comforts and a more practical base long term and maybe safer sailing.
If so, WHICH CAT'S are ADVISED?

Being a monohull man, with very little exerience of the joys of catamarans, I have little knowledge on the subject. Could members please enlighten?

e.g. The pros and cons etc....

boatmike

Visit site
Pros:
Loads more space
Stable downwind (tradewinds) sailing under easily managed headsails. Sailing upright is wonderful!
No nasty rolling motion (but they do hobbyhorse)...
You can put your cocoa down on the table and go and put in a reef.... When you return it will still be there!
No big lump of iron screwed to the bottom to sink you if you are holed. They are NOT unsinkable but some are close.
Often missed but an advantage is that they are often much drier than monohulls as most of the accommodation is above the WL...
Cons
More expensive to buy
More expensive to moor in marinas etc.
Purists will look at you from thier smelly dirty damp little holes in the water with a mixture of envy and distain and mutter about it not being a proper boat.....

Skylark

Visit site
Probably better to post in the Liveaboard section?

Friends of ours cast off these shores about 4 seasons ago in their Broadblue 42 and have never looked back. The skipper posts on here from time to time. Currently well east in the Med