Career Advice or Help

gary2sail

Visit site
I am looking for some career advice or help, please. My dream job would be as a skipper on a charter yacht in the UK.

I have extensive experience of sailing in the Inner and Outer Hebrides in Scotland and the Solent in the south of England. I have sailed many different types of sailing yachts (from 30ft up to 50ft, makes and models). I have sailed over 4,000 nm, over 100 days aboard and 85-night hours. I have gained a Yachtmaster Coastal Skipper certificate of competence with a commercial endorsement which expired last year.

Plus, all the RYA courses from Competent Crew to Yachtmaster Coastal Skipper and a VHF, Diesel Engine, Professional Practices and Responsibility, STCW 95 regulations V1/1, Sea Survival and Powerboat level.
To renew my commercial endorsement, I must do a First Aid course and get an ENG 1 medical certificate.

My last cruise/ training on a sailing yacht was when I did my Yachtmaster offshore practical courses, I did not take the exam because of tiredness. I am currently unemployed, so paying for courses and training would be difficult. I am looking for something like an apprenticeship etc?
If I got my commercial endorsement, what sort of career could I get?
Please, any help or advice that would get me my dream job, would be grateful.
Thank you
Gary Underwood
Email: saltyseadog10@yahoo.com
LinkedIn Profile: www.linkedin.com/in/Gary-Underwood

ridgy

Visit site
Are you saying that you went on a YM prep week but chose not to take the exam? In that case the school would have offered you another exam date? They often suggest (politely) to candidates who they think are not ready that they come back another time to do the exam.
If not then if you've already passed YM coastal then a school will let you take the exam with them for a modest fee?

Your LI profile says that you failed your YM exam because of tiredness. I really wouldn't advertise that, it's not a good look. Sailing often involves tiredness.