Bayliner vs Sealine

Downsize

Visit site
I'm not sure if this is the right area to post this query but we are looking to buy a boat for the Thames.

We have seen a beautiful Sealine S28 as well as some lovely Bayliners. I have some questions for you experienced fellas.

Are there any increased cost implications related to insuring either boat? We are looking at differing lengths from 28ft to 32ft and with diesel twins and petrol singles. As a newbie, but with age on his side, how much more difficult is it to pilot a twin against a single? Also servicing costs issues, are they hugely increased with a twin...sound obvious but perhaps two engines do it easier than one, so less wear, more reliable?

The Sealine seems to be very well finished with good quality fittings....i.e. the door locks don't look as though they will snap at the first sign in change of temperature. Do the Bayliners have the same quality? We are looking at Boats from 1997 onwards.

The other issue is on board heating, dehumidifying......We would like to protect our investment ( we may spend as much as £45,000, a large amount for us) so what are the best methods to allow us to perhaps use the boat up to the late autumn, then to put her to bed over the winter and come back in the spring to a fresh and welcoming cabin

A lot of questions....hope it's not too much
Thanks
Lee

rafiki_

Visit site
Binliners and Sealines are now part of Brunswick, and massive US business, that includes Mercruiser.

Traditionally Binliners have been built to a strict price in the US, and are in general the entry level boat at any particular size. Therefore the quality of the fittings and finish have not been as good as other manufacturers. Having said this, you will find many happy owners on these forums.