Applicability of experience on smaller sail cruisers

finestgreen

Visit site
As I said in my other recent thread about RYA theory, I'm new to sailing and would like to quickly build up to being able to do a flotilla / charter holiday with my family. I'm planning to do the Competent Crew course and would like then to move on to Day Skipper and beyond to Coastal.

I've seen this local club - Cruising - and flitting around the Solent area on one of their cruisers seems like an easy way of building experience. But... how relevant would experience gained on a 18-21' cruiser be to a typical charter yacht? Is it so different that it's of limited value?

(I understand that under 7m it doesn't count as experience for Yachtmaster, but I'm not too worried about that yet)

Biggles Wader

Visit site
I would look to join a local (where are you?) sailing club and just get out on the water with anyone who wants a crew or is willing to help you out. That way you will very quickly pick up the basics and soon become pretty good at it. Then you will be in demand by boat owners who need a crew and could probably skip the (expensive) competant crew course and concentrate on the day/coastal skipper courses or whatever they are called now. These are harder but more useful and open doors to charter or more serious crewing opportunities. None of it is that difficult if you can get out on the water and there must be plenty of ownwers who need a crew or two?

Slowboat35

Visit site
When I asked a well known company what experience they wanted for a flotilla holiday they replied, "have you ever sailed a dinghy?"
This was for a Croatian flotilla on Jaguar or Gibsea(?)27s or thereabouts, 20 years ago.

On a flotilla the dayskipper rating is far more than you 'need' as they have lead-boat crew to show you the ropes for the first day or half day.