Antifouling Newbie

Visit site
Good Morning all,

I’m calling on the worldly wisdom of ybw again. I need some advice on antifouling as I’ve never done it before.

This is the current condition of the hull:
A99DE38A-4360-4F82-9E54-5770A25113F5.jpeg

The current antifouling is micron350 and for simplicity purposes I’m going to be redoing it with more of the same ?

From all the threads I’ve read everyone likes a simple job like me so the feeling seems to be just slap it on.

Hull has been pressure washed and this has cleaned it back well. My plan is to scrapany flakey bits off the get to work with the paint straight on top.

Does this sound okay? Given the condition do you think I need to prime with primocon or just crack on?

Once again thanks for the incoming advice, it’s appreciated.

Warren

Tranona

Visit site
yes, just scrape off the flaky bits and recoat. Unlikely but if there are any patches back to gel coat then prime (Primocon) before AF. Suggest you clean off the old AF around the lower bearing housing and use Trilux as suggested in your other thread about rudder issues. Probably do that when you have the rudder out - if it is still coming out.

Visit site
yes, just scrape off the flaky bits and recoat. Unlikely but if there are any patches back to gel coat then prime (Primocon) before AF. Suggest you clean off the old AF around the lower bearing housing and use Trilux as suggested in your other thread about rudder issues. Probably do that when you have the rudder out - if it is still coming out.

Thought of your advice yesterday when I was in foxes and bought the trilux. Ouch.

Rudder is out now and awaiting the bearings after lots and lots of swearing and “persuasion” with big hammers and wedges. It was definitely stuck fast. Play to do the top of the rudder and around the housing in trilux along with the saildrive leg. Sound about right?

Tranona

Visit site
Thought of your advice yesterday when I was in foxes and bought the trilux. Ouch.