A2 or Code Zero?

Cariadco

Visit site
I have an Archambault 40, with an A3 of 110 sq m, and an A4 of 160 sq m, and under ORC Club Certificate.
I sail a large Genoa of 52 sq m and trying to decide to go for an A2 or a Code Zero.
My sailmaker suggests the Code Zero of around 110 sq m, and they can fit it to a Furler I already have.
We mostly race double handed, sometimes with 3, here in Corfu
Any recommendations on which sail to go for please?

Ingwe

Visit site
I have to ask but why don't you have an A2 already? As it's normally the sail that gets used by far the most on any asymmetric boat. Or is it that your A4 isn't really an A4 and is just an A2 design in a heavier material (from the size I am guessing that this might be the case)? If this is the case a proper A2 would still be of benefit as it will be lighter to handle short handed / will set better in light airs and will enable you to sail deeper in light to moderate airs. Also depending upon the age of your A4, downwind asymmetric design has improved an awful lot in the past 10 yrs.

As for the code zero you have to think about how often you would actually use it because if you have overlapping headsails the only scenario you are likely to need the zero is when you are reaching and it's too light for you to hit hull speed with the genoa, but it is too tight an angle for your A3, or occasionally in really heavy airs and your worried about blowing out the A3 - but if your short handed I am guessing you would stick to a headsail at that point.

flaming

Visit site
What hole in your performance are you trying to plug? A code zero and an A2 do very different jobs.

flaming

Visit site
Somewhere between my large genoa and the A3.
Then I have no idea why you are talking about an A2. An A2 is designed to run deep in medium wind. If it's a gap between the genoa and the A3 you are looking for then it's a code 0.