Volvo Penta MD2030 "lazy" gearbox

Termagant

Visit site
I realise this issue has been raised before on the forum, but I could not find a conclusive answer - maybe there isn't one! Here goes anyway. The transmission on my Volvo Penta MD2030 is "lazy" and does not engage for at least 10 seconds (longer unless you find just the right amount of revs) in both ahead and astern. This was only an occasional problem but it is now becoming more frequent and obviously will be somewhat nerve-wracking in challenging mooring situations etc. Any thoughts on the fixability of this problem (I'm not an engineer, just a blundering amateur), or should I be sourcing a new gearbox?

PaulRainbow

Visit site
Make/model of gearbox would be useful.

Have you changed the oil in the transmission ?

Is it filled with the correct oil ?

jwfrary

Visit site
Cone clutch’s on those, chance of reshimming, but it’s not an easy job and if the coatings gone it’s toast :-(

do check the selector arms travelling far enough first. Take the cable off and actuate it from the box and see if it’s the same. Could be stretchy/worn cable/control.

Termagant

Visit site
Make/model of gearbox would be useful.

Have you changed the oil in the transmission ?

Is it filled with the correct oil ?
Thanks for your reply Paul Rainbow. I will check the model but believe it to be MS10A or MS10L. Yes, I just changed the oil. I had a Volvo engineer on board who recommended ATF. Could it be something to do with that?

Termagant

Visit site
Cone clutch’s on those, chance of reshimming, but it’s not an easy job and if the coatings gone it’s toast :-(

do check the selector arms travelling far enough first. Take the cable off and actuate it from the box and see if it’s the same. Could be stretchy/worn cable/control.
Thanks jwfrary, I will try that.

PaulRainbow

Visit site