Attacked by an Orca near A Coruna

rotrax

South Oxon, Littlehampton and Wellington, NZ.
Visit site
I am no expert on orca attacks

Apparently not.................................. ;)

One mans Orca attack is clearly a Marine Biologist's attempt to find an excuse for the behaviour. We have mostly all agreed and accepted it IS strange behaviour and must have a cause. But whatever the cause, they are clearly attacking boats.

Bottom line is twenty miles offshore with a pod of Orca biting, barging and disableing your small vessel you are only going to call it one thing.

And IMHO, an attack seems the best word.

Last edited:

cherod

Visit site
i can totally see where the " Goose " ( ;) ) is coming from ,, what or who do you believe ,, eg , from the same report we get that " the boat was nudged / bumped 15 times and spun round " ,,, also the boat was " attacked and spun round 15 times " ,,,,it is hardly surprising that anyone, let alone someone with some knowledge of the creatures is sceptical of this " unusual " behavour .

Irish Rover

Visit site
Personally, I do not believe that using the phrase "Give it a rest" is polite. If your intention is to be polite, perhaps you could delete the provocative phrase?

FG has given good reasons why he believes that the word "attack" is not appropriate in this context. If you do not wish to hear his rationale, perhaps you should refrain from reading his posts.

Richard
I did say please. I find the subject interesting but having one poster constantly and repeatedly challenging the use of a particular word across 3 threads is totally off-putting. We read his opinion the 1st time and the 2nd time but please don't keep chastising others because of semantics.

jdc

Visit site