Using 2 computers from one wifi signal

TonyS

Visit site
Go to www.connectify.me and download their free lite version. I have been using it for 4 years and it does what it says without any hassle. Should work with any wifi antenna, so no need to buy anything.

I have just installed this on my vista laptop. However, it uses jargon that I don't understand.
I am just trying it when connected to my home network by wifi and was hoping it would enable a hotspot with a different name that I could test with my iPhone.
Instead I get "Could not stop/start Hotspot because of invalid settings:
Wi-Fi Ad-Hoc mode does not support sharing Internet from the 'Share Over' device"
It only gives me the choice of adhoc with or without wep. I put in a simple 5 digit password with wep and none without wep and get this same message.
Should I be using the wep password from my home network perhaps? But that has characters that are not in the required A to F range.
Please could you or someone who understands computer jargon, tell me what I should be doing.
NB at this stage I am not using the Engenius aerial.

Mistroma

Greece briefly then Scotland for rest of summer
www.mistroma.com
Tony, I forgot that you had one Vista laptop, sorry. I don't think that Connectify works in Access Point Mode with Vista and you'll only get Ad-Hoc Mode. Main difference is that Access Point mode allows you to create a hotspot using the same Wi-Fi card that you are using to access the Internet. Ad Hoc mode will require the Internet connection to come from another source (e.g. s 2nd Wi-Fi card in your computer).

It would probably be OK to use an internal adapter to re-broadcast connection made via your USB WiFi booster. Just remembered another (of many) problems with Ad Hoc mode, I don't think Android phones will connect without some tweaking.